The Course of Empire Trilogy includes The Last Sword Maker (2018), Five Tribes (2021) and The Great Unmaking (2023).

The series follows a group of military scientists who create a game-changing technology that transforms not only the way wars are waged, but, ultimately, the very fabric of life on earth.

The first book in the series, The Last Sword Maker, is a globe-trotting thriller about a high-tech arms race between the United States and China as both nations rush to be the first to master the new technology.

Five Tribes begins with a top secret mission to Africa where scientist Eric Hill must confront the unintended consequences of the technology he helped create. Simultaneously, back in America, Jane Hunter must keep sinister forces from getting their hands on the new weapon systems.

The Great Unmaking is the dramatic finale to the series. As the most advanced military technology in the world proliferates from one group to another, the slightest misstep could trigger the end of all things. With the clock ticking, it is up to Jane Hunter and Eric Hill to try to stop the coming collapse.

Short Stories

An unconventional love story

“Twelve girlfriends?!”

Scott looked at his grandfather as if the venerable old man had just unzipped his skin and a guest from “The Jerry Springer Show” had climbed out. (Photo by Josh G)

A Murder in Reverse

You watch as the blood seeps back into the wound in his neck. Soon he will come back to life. There. You see his body stiffen. He blinks for the last time, then for the penultimate time. (Photo by Max Muselmann)

When dreams are more than dreams

At first Jill and David considered their son’s occasional nightmares as expected symptoms of the incurable malady of boyhood. In the morning he would relate incredible stories of people and places, places that Jill and David were surprised he’d even heard of. (Photo by Jonathan Bowers)

Enjoy? Please click and share


If you would like to receive updates and newsletters:

Close Menu